Over the past two months, I have been interning for the growing e-tailer, style-passport.com. Because the company is in it’s youth, it has been great for me, as an intern, to step in on these early stages and see all facets of the business, from buying and merchandising to editorial and social media. As exciting as it would be to intern for web giant Net-A-Porter, I doubt I’d be sitting in the same room daily as the MD of the company! And that is what I have loved about my time here.

Speaking of the MD, Sarah Walter, has had an extensive fashion career starting at British Vogue and becoming the youngest editor in the fashion room. Later, Sarah worked at Harper’s Bazaar then Marie Claire before changing fashion lanes completely and embracing brand development at New Look and River Island. Sarah was the one who got Giles, Lily Allen, Luella Bartley and Katie Hillier involved at New Look. If that wasn’t enough, I’m amongst fashion pros who’ve come from WGSN, moo.com, New Look, Dune and Pied a Terre to name a few.

Most of my responsibilities have revolved around assisting the team with buying and merchandising admin, updating content onto the website, and assisting on fashion shoots. On the first shoot I worked on, the deputy editor and stylist spotted a nearby painted house out and about on location. It was the perfect backdrop for this season’s Chinti and Parker star sweater.

Style Passport are leading the way when it comes to holiday fashion. Here are my picks from the site:

The team work hard and play hard, holding two events since my duration. The first being an event specially for bloggers, the Big Summer Blog Spot. We got to meet the faces behind the websites, pose for pictures in our beach shack photobooth and some of our favourite brands contributed to the evening’s goody bag.


This week, s-p hosted a networking evening exclusively for female professionals at the Groucho Club. It was a productive night of fashion brainstorming. Since it was my first time there, I was awestruck by the atmosphere and the Twinkle champagne cocktails.

Tracy Emin at The Groucho club. Image from Mr and Mrs Smith Instagram

I first found out about s-p after my sister bought me an Anya Hindmarch gadget bag from them as my Christmas present. It was for my epic backpacking trip around the world. After travelling for the best part of this year, I was so happy to work for a site that is passionate about travel. The holiday wardrobe edit can be so stressful (I started packing in December for my trip the following February) and here is a site that does all that for you. My style-passport journey ends next week.

Photobucket

